The Music Producers Guild (MPG) has revealed the shortlist for the annual awards ceremony, which takes place in February 2017. Paul Epworth, Fraser T. Smith and Nigel Godrich are nominated for the top Prize, joining a host of internationally acclaimed producers shortlisted for various other accolades.

Announced today, the shortlist sees a record number of MPG Full Members casting their votes. Final judging will take place on December 5 and winners will be announced at the gala ceremony on February 16 at London’s Grosvenor House.

Tarek Musa of Spring King as well as James Blake and Jeff Lynne have been nominated for the newly introduced Self-Producing Artist category. Other entries include David Bowie’s Blackstar, Michael Kiwanuka’s Love and Hate and Radiohead’s A Moon Shaped Pool, all of which are shortlisted for UK Album of the Year.

Previous winners over the last nine years include Sir George Martin CBE, Youth, FKA Twigs, Brian Eno, Catherine Marks, Trevor Horn and Dave Stewart.

Tony Platt, MPG Awards Group director, said:

“The MPG Awards are totally unique because they reflect the UK music industry’s incredible wealth of creative talent and also the respect we all have for our colleagues. The roles of producers and engineers are now universally recognised and we can pat ourselves on the back for championing that recognition. The support and encouragement that these production teams give to artists is priceless and should be shouted about at every opportunity.”

Read more here at Music Week

Photo credit: Khalil Musa